Martin selected as 2019 OASA District 16 Superintendent of the Year

The Oklahoma Association of School Administrators (OASA) is pleased to announce Mike Martin of Pauls Valley Public Schools as the 2019 OASA District 16 Superintendent of the Year. Mr. Martin will be recognized at the Cooperative Council for Oklahoma School Administration (CCOSA) Summer Leadership Conference this June and is also eligible to submit an application for the State Superintendent of the Year that will be awarded in May.

OASA annually recognizes outstanding administrators who:

•demonstrate successful experience in top level educational administration 

•have a sound, dynamic and realistic philosophy of education 

•can inspire and motivate people and give support and recognition for the contributions of others

•have a record which evidences continued professional and personal growth through appropriate training and experiences including skills in human relations and the stamina to cope with the pressures of the job, 

•have the ability to speak for education on all levels with special emphasis on the district level

•have made contributions to educational administration

“Naming Administrator of the Year is one of my favorite times of the year to recognize outstanding school superintendents,” said Dr. Pam Deering, CCOSA/OASA Executive Director. 

“I’m reminded again and again about the incredible people working in our state to make public education better. Mike Martin is among some of the best Oklahoma administrators. We’re so proud to recognize the efforts of Mr. Martin to build better schools and exceptional learning experiences for students.”

OASA has 20 Districts that consists of multiple counties. Eligible OASA members are nominated and selected by their peers in their OASA District. 

“This honor is very special because it comes from my peers.  The 57 superintendents in District #16 represent a very talented and amazing group.  I am honored and humbled by this award,” said Mike Martin, Pauls Valley Schools Superintendent.

This is the third time Martin has won the award.  He was also the recipient in 2013-2014 and in 2016-2017.  He will now be eligible as a candidate for Oklahoma State Superintendent of the Year.  The winner will be announced at the awards banquet in June.

Visit the CCOSA website to see past Administrator of the Year awardees. For more information about OASA and CCOSA, please visit